For technical support with the online renewal process, please call (205) 263-1573
The Madison County License Department operates from the Madison County Courthouse with several satellite offices to better serve the public. All locations provide: automobile, hunting, and fishing licenses; auto tag transfers; new resident vehicle registration and titles; boat registration. Business licenses are offered only at the Courthouse.
Effective January 1, 2013, the State of Alabama enacted two laws pertaining to registrations, Acts 32-7A-5 and 37-7A-17. The laws are requiring that Title and Drivers License names match in order to renew registrations. If the owners names are different, we cannot register the vehicle. Also, if one of the owners is deceased, their name must be removed from the title before we can register the vehicle. We will need the original title mailed to us, so we can make the necessary changes.
The Alabama Mandatory Liability Insurance Law Provides that no person shall operate, register, or maintain registration of a motor vehicle designed to be used on a public road or highway unless it is covered by a liability insurance policy. The law was passed to protect consumers when they are involved in an accident.
Liability insurance policies must be issued by issuers licensed to do business in Alabama for no less than:
$25,000 for death or bodily injury to one person
$50,000 for death or bodily injury to two or more persons; and
$25,000 for damage or destruction of property