District Three

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option



Blue portion represents District 3
Click image for larger District 3 map.


Craig Hill
District Three Commissioner



South and Eastern Madison County including New Hope, Owens Cross Roads, Gurley, Hampton Cove and Redstone Arsenal.

District Legal Description

District 3 Map


Craig Hill is a native of New Hope and is married to Karen Hillis Hill. Commissioner Hill is a graduate of New Hope High School and a lifelong resident of Madison County. The couple has two sons, Hudson and Cason, and resides in the New Hope community, where Craig served 3 terms on the New Hope City Council. Craig is a second-generation public servant, the son of the late New Hope Mayor Nolan and Linda Hill, and has one brother, Harrel. During his tenure, Craig secured funding for a new senior center and doctor’s office, worked to secure land for a community storm shelter, replaced antiquated bridges, and oversaw the purchase of the city’s first trash truck and vector control equipment. Craig also served as the council liaison to New Hope’s branch of the Huntsville Madison County Library.

Commissioner Hill has served as President and Vice-President of the Top of Alabama Regional Council of Governments (TARCOG) and on the TARCOG Board of Directors for 11 years. Craig holds a B.A. in Math from Athens State University and an M.A in Educational Administration from Jacksonville State University. Craig began his career as an Algebra teacher and basketball coach at Madison County High School. Commissioner Hill is a retired administrator with the Madison County School System. Craig and Karen are members of the Owens Cross Roads Church of Christ. Commissioner Hill enjoys hunting, fishing, and helping coach both of his sons on their athletic teams. 

“I have dedicated my entire career to the people of District 3. As a teacher, coach, administrator, and public servant, I have worked to put the needs of the community first and I believe in the future of District 3. Madison County is my home and I believe that the citizens deserve a full-time commissioner that will work to improve the quality of life for all our citizens."  -  Craig Hill


District Three East Office 256-776-2475
Fax 256-776-4070

Mailing Address for Commissioner Hill:
4273 Highway 72 East
Brownsboro, AL 35741

Megan Smith, Administrative Assistant 256-776-2475
Greg McCord, Senior Foreman 256-731-9762
Jimmy Foote, Foreman 256-503-6199


New Hope Office 256-723-4247

Fax 256-723-5848
149 Walnut Street
New Hope, AL 35760
Melody Whitaker, Administrative Assistant 256-723-4247
Ray Cloud, Foreman 256-783-1678

Large Trash Collection:

For the trash collection policy in our district click here.

To view the large items trash collection zones map for District Three, please click here.

If you have any questions for the New Hope area, please email dist3@madisoncountyal.gov or call 256-723-4247 and for the Brownsboro area, please email dist3e@madisoncountyal.gov or call 256-776-2475.