The Madison County Tax Collector’s Office will continue to collect delinquent property taxes through the traditional Tax Sale in accordance with the Code of Alabama Title 40 Chapter 10 Sale of Land. Madison County will not be participating in the Tax Lien Auction which is offered as an alternative to the Tax Sale by Act 2018-577 passed during the 2018 Legislative Session.
Registration begins at 9:00 a.m. the day of the sale. There is a $100 cash only registration fee. This fee will be applied toward your Tax Sale purchases and must be paid during registration. If you place the winning bid and do not pay for the property, the fee will be forfeited to offset the expense of reselling the property. If you do not make a purchase, the registration fee will be refunded.
Please contact Tax Collector Lynda Hall (256) 532-3370 or firstname.lastname@example.org if you have any questions.
Probate Judge advertises delinquent tax payers – 2nd Wednesday in February.
Property advertised for tax sale – 3 consecutive Wednesdays in April.
Tax Sale – 1st Friday in May
- Sales are held in May of each year for all unpaid real property tax due.
- Properties are advertised in The Huntsville Times for 3 consecutive weeks in April.
- Property is sold at public auction on the north side of the Madison County courthouse by public outcry.
- The State of Alabama warns: buyers beware on purchase of tax sale property – you are buying the tax lien only – not the real property.
- No promises, guarantees, warranties are made for any property sold at the tax sale.
- Buyers must register from 9:00 am – 10:00 am prior to the start of tax sale in the Tax Collector’s office & receive bidder numbers.
- Tax sale hours are 10:00 am – 4:00 pm daily until all unpaid property is sold. Tax sales can run more than one day.
- The tax lien is sold to the highest bidder.
- Full payment for all property bought must be made the day of the sale within 2 hours of the final property sold or no later than 4:00 pm. Payment must be in certified funds, no exceptions. Cash, cashier’s check or money order. **It is unlawful to win a bid and not pay. Non-payment will result in loss of future bidding rights.
- There is a 5 day grace period after the tax sale where the taxes may be paid and the sale is voided.
- After the 5 day grace period, a sales certificate is issued to the buyer, mailed by certified mail. A good address must be on file with the collector’s office. Again this is for the tax lien only. ** Should you lose a certificate and need a duplicate, there will be a $20 fee due immediately in cash upon copy request.
- Redemption laws have changed. As a buyer you should make yourself aware of the new redemption requirements.
- Any time within the first three years the owners of said property can redeem their property thru the probate judge’s office. The probate judge’s office will contact the purchaser with instructions on how they can get their refund. The redemption money is refunded to the purchaser of the tax lien. The tax sale certificate must be surrendered & is null & void.
- A tax deed cannot be issued until three years from the date of the tax sale. At that time the purchaser must surrender his certificate to the judge of probate, who in turn issues a tax deed.
- Property sold at the tax sale is subject to all liens and mortgages that are on said property. Successful bidders are required to contact the mortgage company.
- For more information on real estate property tax sales, go to the state of Alabama Code of Alabama, Title 40, Chapter 10.
- Tax sale property not purchased at the tax sale is sold to the state of Alabama. Visit the website of Department of Revenue, Land Division for information and a list of property.