Show/Hide
 

Tags and Title Information

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Renew Your Tag Online

For technical support with the online renewal process, please call (205) 263-1573

 

MANDATORY PROOF OF INSURANCE

 

Registrants should be prepared to provide proof of insurance when obtaining a tag for the first time or renewing a plate in person, by mail or online. Insurance proof may be provided electronically, by picture or the actual insurance card itself. 

The Alabama Mandatory Liability Insurance Law Provides that no person shall operate, register, or maintain registration of a motor vehicle designed to be used on a public road or highway unless it is covered by a liability insurance policy.  The law was passed to protect consumers when they are involved in an accident. 

Liability insurance policies must be issued by issuers licensed to do business in Alabama for no less than:

$25,000 for death or bodily injury to one person

$50,000 for death or bodily injury to two or more persons; and

$25,000 for damage or destruction of property

 

SALES TAX FOR VEHICLES

 
MUNICIPAL CODE CITY SALES TAX AD VALOREM
1 MADISON COUNTY pop 276,700 2.75% 0.0335
2 HUNTSVILLE CITY pop 158,216 4.00% 0.0580
3 TRIANA CITY pop 458 4.75% 0.0495
4 OWENS CROSS RDS CITY pop 1124 3.75% 0.0405
5 MADISON CITY pop 29,329 4.50% 0.0575
6 NEW HOPE CITY pop 2,539 3.50% 0.0405
7 GURLEY CITY pop 876 4.25% 0.0405

Sales tax must be paid to the county official when a vehicle is either purchased from an individual or from a dealer who is out of state. (NOTE: Some in-state dealers do not collect all the sales tax that is due; therefore, we will collect the remaining amount due at time of registration.)

Title Information

Titles must be applied for in person because original signatures are required. 

Titles can be applied for at any of the License Department Locations.

 Alabama requires titles on the following types of vehicles:

             35 years or newer for motorized vehicles

            35 years or newer for motorcycles

            35 years or newer for motor homes

            20 years or newer for pop-up campers

            20 years or newer for manufactured homes

            20 years or newer for travel trailers

           

Horse Trailers are not typically titled unless the customer requests one.  Must be a 5th wheel or goose neck trailer.  Bumper pull horse trailers are not titled.

 The following types of vehicles do NOT require a title:

  • Boats
  • Boat Trailers  
  • Utility Trailer (unless 5th wheel, goose neck or semi)

If vehicle is leased and there is not a lienholder, you will need to bring the following:

  • Lease Company needs to mail Original Title and Original Power of Attorney
  • Driver’s License Number
  • Proof of Insurance
  • Vehicle for Inspection (vehicle identification number and mileage)
  • Individuals whose names are on the title

If vehicle is leased and there is a lienholder, you will need to bring the following:

  • Copy of Title
  • Driver’s License Number for each person listed on title
  • Proof of Insurance

If there is a lien on the vehicle, you will need to bring the following:

  • Copy of Title
  • Driver’s License Number for each person listed on title
  • Proof of Insurance

If there is a death, you will need to bring the following:

  • Original Title
  • Letter of Testamentary, if probated
  • If not probated, then copy of death certificate and next of kin form – obtained from our office
  • Proof of Insurance      
  • Driver’s License Number for next of kin

If there is a name change, you will need to bring the following:

  • Title
  • If there is a lienholder, company will need to mail title to License Dept.
  • Legal document that changed the name.

If purchased from an individual, you will need to bring the following:

  • Title or Title Application
  • If there is a lienholder, company will need to mail title to License Dept.
  • Bill of Sale
  • Proof of Insurance
  • Driver's License number for each person listed on the title

Applying for a Lost or Stolen Title:

  • Complete replacement form
  • Include $15 certified funds (cashiers check, money order, or certified check ) to: 

Alabama Department of Revenue

P O Box 327699

Montgomery AL 36132-7699

 

 

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer