Driver's License Renewal
Your Alabama driver's license expires four years after it is issued and the expiration date is shown on the license. The license may be renewed at any time within 60 days prior to expiration.
Any person 16 years of age but under 18 years of age who has held a Learner’s License (to include a comparable license issued by another state) for six months or until their 18th birthday and has developed the necessary skills to safely operate a motor vehicle may present himself to his local driver license examiner for the road test.
Any valid driver's license in possession of a person on active duty with the armed forces, their dependents, or any person temporarily out of Alabama at license renewal time may be renewed by mail. The required fee ($36.25 for regular license renewal) should be submitted by cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Department of Public Safety and mailed to the Driver’s License Division, P O Box 1471, Montgomery AL 36102-1471. The licensee's full name, birth date, and driver license number should be included along with their out-of-state address. The license must bear an Alabama address. You will keep the same picture and signature. You can download the form here.
You may renew your Alabama Driver’s license in any county in the State. Alabama no longer sends advance notices when your driver's license is about to expire. You will be notified 30 days after your license has expired to come in and renew your license.
Alabama law grants a grace period of 60 days after the expiration date of a driver's license for the purpose of driver's license renewal and the driver's license shall be valid for this period of time.
An Alabama driver's license may be renewed without examination within a 3 year period after expiration. A license issued under these circumstances will be valid for a four-year period from the last expiration date instead of four years from date of issue. Even though license renewal is possible up to three years after expiration, a person could not legally operate a motor vehicle with an expired license.
You will need to bring your Driver's License with you when you renew your license. If you have lost your license and it is time to renew, you must bring a certified document to renew.
You need to know the answers to the following questions:
- Is your Address Correct? This is for your mailing address. The state will NOT forward Drivers Licenses.
- Is your Height and Weight correct?
- Do you wish to be an organ donor? Organ Donor Information can be found here.
If you do not receive your permanent driver's license by the expiration date on your temporary, you will need to contact the State of Alabama at the number on your temporary license.
What does it cost?
Driver's License renewal is $36.25, paid to the License Department.
If you are paying by check, it should be payable to: Mark Craig, License Director.
*All fees are subject to change.
Madison County Courthouse
100 North Side Square Room 108
Huntsville AL 35801-4820
8:30 am to 5:00 pm
Madison County Satellite Locations: Click here for License Department Locations
Madison County can only process driver license or ID renewals and replacements. We cannot add or remove any endorsements or restrictions.
The following licenses can be renewed or duplicated using the online system:
•Commercial Driver's License
•State ID Cards
•Licenses may only be renewed by this online application once every 8 years.
•Driver's licenses and ID Cards are eligible to renew 60 days prior to expiration date.
•A valid credit card is required to use this application.
•A non-refundable fee will be collected at the end of your transaction. If for any reason the transaction is not completed, your card will not be charged.
•Only renewals and duplicates can be performed online.
•To change your address or to add or remove license classes, restrictions and endorsements, please see an examiner.
•If you have recently moved and have a Forwarding Address, the post office WILL NOT forward a license or ID Card.
•You MUST have a printer available to print your 30 day temporary license.
•Your new permanent license or ID card will be mailed within 30 days. A temporary receipt will be provided that is valid for 30 days.
Veterans Driver License Designation
Beginning May 1st, 2013, Alabama Veterans will have the option of displaying proof of military service on their driver license.
To establish proof of service, a veteran must visit one of the Alabama Department of Public Safety’s Driver License examining offices and present a DD-214 form from the U.S. Department of Defense that shows an “honorable” or “general under honorable conditions” status.
There is no additional charge for the veteran designation for a first-time driver license applicant or for an individual seeking to renew his or her license. A veteran who chooses to add the designation before his or her renewal date, however, must pay the standard fee for a duplicate license.
In order for a name change on your driver’s license or ID you must first go to the Social Security Office located at 4970 Research Drive, Huntsville 35805 and have your Social Security Card changed. You will be given a form to bring to the office to change your name. You must wait 24 hours after you have been to the Social Security Office before any changes can be made on your license. In addition you will need a CERTIFIED document stating name change - Document from Probate Judge certifying name change, Marriage Certificate or Divorce Decree stating you can return to maiden name. Don't forget to change your voter registration at the same time.
Alabama Law currently does not recognize as valid any marriage, or union replicating a marriage, of parties of the same sex that occurred or is alleged to have occurred as a result of the law of any jurisdiction regardless of whether a marriage license was issued. Therefore, a marriage license or certificate from another State pertaining to a “same sex” marriage will not be accepted for purposes of changing a person’s name on that person’s driver’s license. In this situation, an individual must petition the Judge of Probate and receive an order granting the name change before their name can be changed on their Alabama driver License.
$31.25 for duplicate license